Recipe. A. Day.

My fav burger buns.  Preservative free...hence freezing, since we use so few at a time.

My fav burger buns. Preservative free…hence freezing, since we use so few at a time.

Burgers. Yum. Mycoprotein 9g per serving! (Protein via a fermentation process, in the mushroom family)

Burgers. Yum. Mycoprotein 9g per serving! (Protein via a fermentation process, in the mushroom family)  

Tonight’s dinner is one of my easy ones.  I call it a cheater meal.  It’s as close to fast food as we get here. (Mostly because I don’t count take out East Indian or Thai cuisine fast food…)  And it’s the weekend – when I tend to get a bit lax on my health kicks…did I mention the tiramisu I had for dessert last night?

So here is the meal in photo form.

The protein is something different – and what’s life without variety hey?  I like that it isn’t soy based.  Much of the research coming out isn’t all as soy-friendly as I had once believed.  Even though my most favourite place to get my protein is plant based (in vegetables themselves, or beans, or pulses- like lentils.)

We still consume soy based proteins; like tofu, about once a week.

The sweet potato fries are homemade (peeled, sliced and diced by my hand) As you can see I learned from this meal again that I need to cook them at a lower temperature to avoid searing the edges (the sugars in this type of potato burn in high heat, I should have done 350 degrees for about 40min).  And also note I didn’t actually use sweet potato (surprise!) I used yams.  Which aren’t as nutrient dense, and are orange in colour (rather than pale yellow/ potato colour.)  They are also substantially easier to cut when you are trying to create fries by hand! And contain more sugars, so the burn factor is increased…beware!

 

IMG_1417                   IMG_1418

IMG_1419

I also wanted to include last night’s late night snack.  Since I got hungry…as does everyone. (Thanks to my honey for making the pumpkin seeds from scratch – super tasty!)

IMG_1396IMG_1397

Leave a Reply

