A Sad Story.

I posted on Valentine’s Day about how I made these beautiful chocolate bowls.  Filled with strawberries and love.

IMG_1876

What I didn’t share was the how-to.  Or in my case: the how-NOT-to

It all started out with a fabulous and very easy looking tutorial sent by my sister.  Which escalated into me buying twice the amount of chocolate required, because you just never know.  I also bought some pretty balloons, strawberries, and had a ton of good intentions.

First Step.

Melt the chocolate.  Only…my chocolate kind of had a seizure.  And I am a fully trained nurse – so no problem right!?

IMG_1866

No, not so.

After madly googling what happened (wtf? Why is my chocolate lumping and solid and not-stirring) I realized my chocolate had seized.  This is the kind of thing that happens in my kitchen when, instead of using an actual double boiler; I put a glass container in a pot of boiling water and expect the same results.  Steam (or maybe a drop of the water that wasn’t supposed to be boiling) got into my chocolate and BAM seizure!

Being resourceful and quick on the google reflex, I found that magical trans-fat Crisco could save the day.  And I had some still in my cupboard (after last year’s Christmas cookie adventure when I realized that my family recipe for cookies had *gulp* trans-fats in them and I boycotted them for good.)  Oops.  That was 2 Christmases ago. This was some old trans-fat.  But I tried it out anyway. Note to self: another reason NOT to use it in recipes…this stuff never goes bad.

I love experimenting.

But the experimenting failed.  Maybe more of the not-supposed-to-be-boiling water got into the chocolate in the “double boiler” glass dish-in-a-pot.

IMG_1868

Only here’s the sad part.  I had to throw the WHOLE batch of chocolate away. (Made me feel better that at least at this point, with the added trans-fats, it might live forever clogging up the garbage dump instead of living forever, clogging up our arteries.)

So I repeat.

Step One (the second time, thank goodness for over-purchasing of the chocolate).

Melt the chocolate.  Following very specific, tested instructions from google.  No water or sudo double boiler. I used the microwave, heating and stirring in 30 second intervals.  And it worked beautifully.  Smooth, creamy, chocolaty goodness.

Step Two.

Blow up the balloons.  I bought the medium sized balloons.  Mostly because that’s all I could find in my rush with two kids at the store with only one snack left.  So I blew them up only a little (small bowls = less chocolate = reasonable dessert size).  Better, I thought.  Besides with the latex being thicker, the hot chocolate wouldn’t be as likely to burst my balloon (pun intended!)

Step Three.

Roll balloons in chocolate and place on wax paper. (Side note the balloons were placed on blobs of chocolate on the wax paper, to stabilize them from rolling and give the bowls a base.)  My rolling technique left something to be desired.  Especially with the last balloon, and the little chocolate left in the bowl.

IMG_1869

Step Four.

Refrigerate.  Then POP balloons and voila! Perfect Bowls.

Well, remember the first part of this blog about intentions?  They were well meaning and good.  Only the *POP* left me lacking, once I began to try and peel the THICK latex off the chocolate.  Thick latex happens to also pull off chocolate, in chunks. And make holes in the bowls.  Lucky for me only one bowl was completely destroyed.  The others I could make do by plugging holes with large strawberries.

It still makes me sad to think of the chocolate that was harmed in the making of the bowls.  It is a sad story that I will try not to repeat.

Leave a Reply

