34. Walk

IMG_1920

Simply Living Healthy – 40 tips in 40 days

Today’s post was going to be about walking.  But I feel like it’s turned into so much more.  So today is a two-part tip.

First – the challenge is to spend an entire day walking.  No car, no elevator, just your legs and feet to go the distance.  Pick a day that is easiest for you to start out with.  It builds in activity and you’ll never know what you’ll discover along the way.  On my walking days I spend much more time connecting with neighbours and the outdoors.  I feel more connected to life.  And even for challenges like grocery shopping I usually come up with some sort of solution (like taking my stroller with the REALLY BIG storage compartment, and waiting until at least one kid is in preschool so I don’t have two kids plus groceries to carry on the way home.)  And for those of you stuck in snow I apologise…I feel your pain as I used to live in said “snow covered freezing ice-land.”  I am a fair weather girl, so tuck this walk day in your mind and do it when the sunshine and warmth appears.  (The sunshine and warmth has appeared here…there are many walk-days in my week now!)

Second – the connecting.  Health isn’t just about physical activity or what you put in your mouth.  It’s also how supported you are and how connected to others that you feel.  Support works like a web, where everyone involved is connected and is a stakeholder in the structure.  By doing all the walking (in the first part of the challenge) you will likely inevitably get to know the people in your community.  And staying within walking distance you are more likely to frequent your community’s small businesses.  By supporting the small businesses and getting to know those in proximity to you, a symbiotic relationship is built.  One in which both parties benefit.

And that’s it – it’s sunny I’m going for a walk!

IMG_1917

Simply Living Healthy – 40 tips in 40 days

Leave a Reply

