In and Out.

IMG_2583

One thing that has struck me lately is how good it feels to move.  All movements in life.  It started with a run last week, where it felt amazing to be able to breath.

Stop and breath.  Or hold your breath until your face goes red (betcha haven’t done that since being a kid!) Then the rush as the oxygen explodes into your lungs and the red blood cells pick it up and transport it across your body.  Absolutely amazing.  And to think we carry this through with us the entire time we are living beings.  Conscious or not.  But adding consciousness to it takes it to a whole new level.  It takes everything and brings it into this moment.  I’ve never thought about it that way until now.  Even though that is how I’ve gotten through Every. Single. Hard. Part. of my life.

Seriously.  Every. Single. One.

The moment I was being robbed at knifepoint and tied with duct tape…focused on trying to slow my breathing (so I could breath…I think I was likely hyperventilating at the time.)

The panic attack underwater during SCUBA training.  No mask on, unable to see.  Breathing.  Once I realized I was still breathing, I could concentrate.  In. Out. In. Out. In. Out.  The only thing that mattered.

Labouring.  Or rather contractions.  Breathing through every single one.  It didn’t take the pain away, but focusing on the breath can seriously get you through anything.

CPR and NRP (neonatal resuscitation) training as a nurse. More breathing. And then putting those into practice in real life while on my honeymoon – I’m not sure who you breath more for after having been through it; yourself or the person you are trying to help.

And in yoga class.  When this last Sunday the entire class got through a 2 minute plank, just with breathing.  Focused effort on the breath.

It is everything.  Be in your moment.  Feel your breath.

You can get through anything.

You can do anything.

Start with breathing.

In and Out.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

